Super Lig Champion Galatasaray

Galatasaray defeated MKE Ankaragücü 4-1 in the 36th week of Spor Toto Super League and declared its championship two weeks before the end of the 2022-2023 season.

Mauro Icardi (2), Barış Alper Yılmaz and Sergio Oliveira scored the goals for the yellow-red team in the match played at Ankara Eryaman Stadium. MKE Ankaragücü’s goal was scored by Milson.

With this result, Galatasaray increased its points tally to 82, maintaining its five-point gap with second-placed Fenerbahçe, which, like Galatasaray, has one game left in the league.

Champion After Three Seasons

Galatasaray lifted the Spor Toto Super League championship trophy after 3 seasons.

The yellow-red team ranked sixth in the 2019-2020 season when Medipol Başakşehir became champion, second with averages in the 2020-2021 season when Beşiktaş won the cup, and 13th in the 2021-2022 season when Trabzonspor took the title.

Top Of The League For The 23rd Time

Galatasaray completed the 2022-2023 Spor Toto Super League season as champions, repeating the feat for the 23rd time.

The yellow-red team improved its record in this field by reaching the happy end for the 23rd time in the 65th season of the league.

Galatasaray remains the only team with the right to wear four stars on its jersey, increasing the gap between itself and Fenerbahçe, its closest rival with 19 titles, to four.

Will Play Qualifying To Stay In The Champions League Grouping

Super League champions Galatasaray will compete in the knockout round of the UEFA Champions League for a place in the group stage.

The yellow-red team will qualify for the Champions League from the 2nd round. This will be Galatasaray’s 16th previous appearance in the group stage of the UEFA Champions League.

Okan Buruk Lifted The Trophy For The Second Time In The League

Galatasaray Technical Director Okan Buruk enjoyed the championship for the second time in the Super League.

Buruk, who previously worked at Elazığspor, Gaziantepspor, Sivasspor, Göztepe, Akhisar Belediyespor, Çaykur Rizespor and Medipol Başakşehir in his coaching career, reached the championship with Medipol Başakşehir in the 2019-2020 season.

Okan Buruk, who won the Turkish Cup with Akhisarspor Belediyespor in the 2017-2018 season, lifted the third trophy in his coaching career.

First Championship For 20 Footballers

Twenty of Galatasaray’s players who played in official matches this season became Super Lig champions for the first time in their careers.

Okan Kocuk, Victor Nelsson, Abdülkerim Bardakcı, Kaan Ayhan, Mathias Ross, Emin Bayram, Sam Adekugbe, Kazımcan Karataş, Sacha Boey, Leo Dubois, Berkan Kutlu, Nicolo Zaniolo, Juan Mata, Kerem Aktürkoğlu, Barış Alper Yılmaz, Milot Rashica, Yusuf Demir, Dries Mertens, Hamza Yiğit Akman and Özgür Baran Aksaka won their first league titles.

Galatasaray’s experienced goalkeeper Fernando Muslera won the Super League title for the 6th time.

Earned More Than 190 Million Liras In Broadcasting Revenue

With its Super League championship, Galatasaray earned more than 190 million liras in broadcasting revenues.

Galatasaray, which received 33.4 million Turkish Liras in “footsteps” money for competing in the league, has also received performance bonuses amounting to 66.9 million liras so far.

The yellow-red team earned 33.2 million liras in championship premiums and 62.9 million liras for the number of championships.

Within the framework of the protocol signed between the Turkish Football Federation and the Clubs Union Foundation, 5 million liras of this revenue was donated for the container city project to be built in the region due to the earthquakes centered in Kahramanmaraş on February 6.

Mücahid Ahlatçı

Hi, I'm Mucahid. I am a writer for Expat Guide Turkey and I strive to create the best content for you. To contact me, you can send an e-mail to Happy reading!

Related Articles

Back to top button

Ad Blocker Detected

We earn income from advertisements in order to provide you with a better service. Please turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page to access the content.