WhatsApp version 18.104.22.168 has implemented a much discussed feature. This feature, which was previously only tested by beta users, has now started to spread all over the world.
Facebook announced in August of this year that it is working on new projects that hide online status, show past participants and prevent screenshots. WhatsApp will never be the same again.
Why Blocked is Taking Screenshots with WhatsApp?
Mark ZUCKERBERG, the founder of Facebook, said that such studies are planned to make users feel safe and to protect their sensitive data from malicious people.
From now on, it will not be possible to take screenshots and / or videos of media contents (photos and videos) published with the “view once” option. The following warning message will appear under the “Screenshot Blocked” heading on the screen of those who want to do either of these two actions: “This screenshot has been blocked for more privacy.”
Of course, it is possible to overcome this obstacle put by WhatsApp, which prevents screenshots from being taken due to its security policy, by using a second device. People using third-party programs are also partially blocked from taking screenshots and taking videos.
Because the relevant photo or video is projected with a black screen and nothing is visible. Notification is not sent to the other party. Since this system only blocks media that is broadcast on a “view once” condition, you can still take screenshots of conversations even if there are some messages removed from conversations.
This obstacle, which was implemented for Android and iOS users, also came to the WhatsApp Web version. We will see in the coming days whether screen recording programs can overcome this obstacle on a computer. As time goes by, we will learn how one-time-viewable images and one-time-viewable videos will be preferred with WhatsApp 22.214.171.124 version.